This has been a good experience

Well, I do not know if Dr. Findling is going to keep this blog open or close it and then open it later for future students but I thought it would be interesting if you guys could share what you have learned and experienced in this summer class. The first weeks of this course I was like what is this? I hope this course does not make my summer boring. But in my opinion, I have learned and improved lots of things. The way I interpret information about nature and the relationship between the environment and man is more broad now. I judge things with a wiser perspective. Besides this, I also learned things that I did not know about global warming and climate change. I did not actually believe in climate change (like most people) before this course, but after all the things that I have read from the books infinite nature, emerson’s “nature” and thoureau’s “walking,” what we know about the climate change and all the articles online, I can say that this has totally changed the way I think. Another thing that I have learned is how to critic a film, which is something that it is more important than we think. I used to post online about movies without caring about what I was saying, but it is nice to learn things from the book “a short guide to writing about film” and know how to organize and think about what you are going to post. Screening the Anthropocene has been a really good experience to me. A pleasure to share opinions and information with you guys and Dr. Findling. Take care all of you and have a good rest of the summer. Good luck for this semester.
-Luis

One response to “This has been a good experience

  1. I agree with basically everything you’ve said here. I was very unsure of how much I believed all this global warming stuff before taking this course and the information we have learned throughout this course has definitely helped me to fully understand what all global warming entails. Of course, that’s just one of the examples of things that I have learned throughout the course, but that is one of the most interesting things I learned, in my opinion. This course definitely encouraged a new, more protective view of nature for me, though.

Leave a Reply

