Technology – BLEH.

Everyday I go to work and stare at a computer the entire day.  Everyday, just the same, I come home and stare at a computer all night long doing homework.  

Some days this drudgery just completely baffles me.  This continual absorption of technology is like the meaningless work that Thoreau and Emerson discourage. 

If that’s true, I completely understand where they are coming from.  Some days all I want to do is go outside and enjoy the fresh air.  Sometimes the confines of my house just suffocate me. 

I’ve found that just getting out of the house can refresh my mind.  It can give me a new perspective on the drudgery and allow me to reconnect with myself. 

I don’t think “the healing power of nature” is just a saying.

2 responses to “Technology – BLEH.

  1. I feel the exact same way. The problem with our society, however, is that we let technology control our actions. There is a difference between living a mundane life and actually living. Sure, I can come up with excuse upon excuse to sit here on Facebook all night, but I give myself time to go outside and run each night. Our society praises and advocates the use of technology, even creating children’s games on computers and Ipads to encourage early usage. With this trend, Emerson and Thoreau will no doubt be shaking with anger in their graves. It’s up to us, and others who have studied the importance of the relationship between man and nature, to encourage others to log off and log on to life as it should be.

  2. Amber,
    Yes I can see where you are coming from. My brother works with computers all day, from 8am to 6pm Monday to Friday, and then he comes home exhausted, very stressed and on a negative mood. At the beginning he did not know what to do and how to handle it. But then he started doing things like going to the beach, exercising, socializing…etc. And I actually have noticed that his mood in general has gotten better, but still sometimes he gets mad. Like Sarah has mentioned, it is true that we have let technology “take control of our lives” but I think that like everything in life this has its positives and negatives. Positives, technology has made our lives easier for work, transportation, medicine, electronics, lifestyle…etc. Negatives, most people have lost contact and appreciation to nature, and seeing little kids with Ipads, cellphones, consoles…etc just makes me think, when I was a little kid I used to play with toys, exercising and playing with other kids. Not all of them, but many of them now they do not even socialize or play with each other. How is this generation going to be? What about society? The way we interact with each other in future generations is going to be curious…
    -Luis

Leave a Reply

