The Beauty of a Sunset

Emerson’s chapter about beauty was my favorite part of Nature.  Some of his descriptions of his experiences in nature in this section really stuck out to me. One passage that I liked was when he described a January sunset. He writes that the “western clouds divided and subdivided themselves into pink flakes modulated with tints of unspeakable softness, and the air had so much life and sweetness…” (page 15). Does this not remind you of a sunset from here in Kansas? Kansas may not have the best scenery to look at compared to, say, the mountains in Colorado, but we do have spectacular sunsets. To watch the sky turn into shades of reds, oranges, and pinks is truly beautiful. The sunsets never quite look the same either, which is pretty amazing as well. I also liked how he mentioned that many city residents think that nature is only pretty during half of the year (summer). He says that he finds just as much beauty in winter, too. I must agree with this. To look out over a snow-filled field that has not been touched by the feet of animals or humans is quite a scene. It’s peaceful and has a sense of tranquility. Although I do not like the cold and do not like to go out into the cold, looking out at it is always breathtaking.

2 responses to “The Beauty of a Sunset

  1. Amanda,
    I am glad you mentioned Emerson’s words about the sunset and compared it to Kansas sunset. When I came to Kansas in January 2012 I used to hear “Oh my gosh, you are going to love Kansas sunset, is just unique” or “The sky sometimes looks like is burning on fire” and I could not believe it because I have been spoiled with sunsets over the sea. But you know what? Last spring when I watched the first sunset in Kansas I was so impressed. My mouth was open for minutes and I had a feeling of peace and joy inside that I had never felt before. Kansas sky is so big. I cannot wait to come back in one month and watch it again. Thank you for sharing this with us.
    -Luis

  2. I love Kansas sunsets in the summer: pinks, oranges, reds, UGH it’s just so beautiful! Although I find myself complaining about the shifting temperatures and unpredictable weather, Kansas sure is a nice place to live. There are so many things I can point out in nature that I hate such as bugs and poison ivy, but I think that the beauty will always outweigh the disturbing aspects of nature.

Leave a Reply

