Research Paper Proposal- Changing our way of thinking about nature and business

In the first part of my paper I am going to lay out my personal philosophy of humans and their interactions with nature. My proposal is one of mutual respect. I am going to lay out how humans need to not have “dominion” over nature but need to be guardians and by protecting earth we protect our future. My goal is to take the bible verse from Genesis 1:26 and dissect this to make relevant point in how this use of word has been misused and abused to prove a point that humans were meant to be caregivers not dictators. I am going to lay out the use of the word dominion/rule/master and show the different translations of the word from Hebrew and then talk about harmony. I will lead into how businesses can be in harmony and not destroy the environment and work with the environment. I am going to then show a little on how policies are made that affect business. As this is a very broad subject I am going to be focusing within the lumber industry for my sources. I came to this decision because I was watching the Lorax with my kids and we got to talking about why all the trees were gone. I grew up in a logging community that thrived on trees, but understood the importance of planning on the future. I will conclude with a basis of how humans can be in harmony with nature while taking care of their families.

Thesis:

Deforestation is a necessity but by relooking at our value system and our business practice, business can meet the needs to protect the environment and economically support the human race.

Some of my resources are included below:

Canipe, L. (2010). Rethinking . Christian Ethics Today, (80), 21. Retrieved from                http://www.christianethicstoday.com/cetart/index.cfm?fuseaction=Articles.main&ArtID=1172

Deforestation. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://environment.nationalgeographic.com/environment/global-              warming/deforestation-overview/

Dyk, A. (2011, Summer). Canadian deforestation mapping and carbon accounting for kyoto agreement.         Retrieved from http://www.esri.com/news/arcnews/summer11articles/canadian-deforestation-    mapping-and-carbon-accounting-for-kyoto-agreement.html

Gorte, R., & Sheikh, P. Congressional Research Service, Members and Committees of Congress.                (2010). Deforestation and Climate Change (R41144)

Henry, M. (1960). L. Church (Ed.), Matthew Henry’s Commentary. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.

Treviño, A. (2013). The cemex approach to biodiversity conservation. Retrieved from                http://www.birdlife.org/community/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/cx_BirdLife-               biodiversity_11_final02a.pdf.

Urquhart, G., Chomentowski, W., Skole, D. & Barber, C. (n.d.). Tropical deforestation. Earth Observatory,       Retrieved from http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/Features/Deforestation/tropical_                deforestation_2001.pdf

One response to “Research Paper Proposal- Changing our way of thinking about nature and business

  1. Sorry it’s taken me a few days to reply to this, but I just wanted to say that your proposal looks great. It sounds like you have a very clear idea of what you want to do and how you’ll proceed. I don’t have any real concerns at this point, other than to reinforce a worry that you already expressed, which is that this topic could end up being too broad and expansive for a paper of this scope. It sounds like you’ve already thought about that, however, so I’ll just say that I look forward to reading what you come up with.

Leave a Reply

