What a Wonderful World

In chapter 12 of Bruce Hull’s Infinite Nature, the beauties of the natural world are discussed by using examples of natural parks. Hull says that parks provide people with areas of recreation, a chance to witness extraordinary experiences, a way to see beauty all over, and also to see something that is designed to be neat and wonderful. When I first read this chapter, I was immediately reminded of my trip to the Garden of the Gods in Colorado. This natural, rocky park gives hikers, tourists, and environmental guru’s the chance to witness nature in an interesting perspective. When I visited, we rode horses up one of the larger red rocks at sunrise. I have to say, it was one of the most serene experiences I have ever had; feeling like I was at the top of the world, with no technological distractions and seeing natural beauty for miles. Like Hull states, the feeling that I had when interacting with nature helped to “promote feelings of peace and tranquility” and even to “contemplate God’s grace” (188). It truly is a wonderful world that we are living in; if only everyone would appreciate the beauty in front of them.

-Sara

2 responses to “What a Wonderful World

  1. I agree every time I get away from the city to visit somewhere like you visited, I am reminded of what a beautiful place we live in. I wish I lived closer to the mountains. One thing Wichita does have is some great parks. I liked that you talked about no technological distractions. When I was camping we had no service and I just put my phone away and was stress free. I read and played at the lake and didn’t think about all the stuff that was happening.

  2. I blogged about something similar not too long ago from another chapter in Hull’s book and I agree completely with what you have said. I have not been to the exact park that you spoke of, but I have rode horses up in the mountains of Colorado before. I understand what emotions you experienced, as I experienced very similar ones. It truly is amazing to ride through the mountains and see all of the beauty that is found everywhere. It is very eye-opening and different compared to the craziness found here in the city of our normal everyday lives.

Leave a Reply

