Early Scientific Exploration

Reading chapter 9 of Hull’s book was really interesting to me. I like when religion is brought into the topic, even if I don’t necessarily agree with everything that Hull writes (I’ve posted about this before). That being said, I thought it was interesting to read that a lot of the scientific experiments done in the early ages were performed with religious purposes in mind. People such as Sir Isaac Newton, Thomas Jefferson, and John Calvin all believed that nature and universal laws showed proof of intentional design. I don’t ever remember learning this as I’ve grown up either. Everybody now-a-days is so concerned with separating religion from education (and everything else for that matter) that we aren’t even taught that there were many religious reasons for scientific experiments. We’ve gained extreme amounts of information through these scientists and just to think that we may not have gained all of this information if some of them weren’t performing them for religious reasons amazes me. I know everybody is entitled to their own religious beliefs, but I am glad these scientists shared some of the same religious views that I do.

Amanda
One response to “Early Scientific Exploration

  1. Amanda,
    I agree after reading the other 8 chapters I was interested in seeing what Hull had to say about religion on the subject. The point about Thomas Jefferson not believing that God’s design being flawed and this was one of his reasons to explore of the US was something new to me.

Leave a Reply

