Driving to Grandma’s house

While reading Diehm’s essay, Identification with Nature, I would couldn’t help but think about a time when I was made about something that happened to my environment. I grew up in a logging community and cutting trees was a way of life, but so was replanting. It was natural to have a clearcut and then to see it start growing again. I went off to college and then joined the Army and when I came back to visit I was really excited to see the drive home. This drive was beautiful, over hills through trees, over creeks and rivers, by fields and then back through trees. Then the picture was abruptly disrupted. John Seed talks about how he connected with the rainforest and was literally defending it/himself”. Just outside my small town used to be some of the biggest trees that lined HWY 101 and they were gone. I remember the sick feeling that something was wrong. This was not just logging but looked wrong. I remember just thinking why couldn’t they cut somewhere else? I grew up with the trees blocking all of the views, to now staring at this waste land. 5 years has gone by and now there small trees growing, but it is not the same.

Identification with ones environment is something that takes time and is conflicting. We know things have to change but we want things to stay the same. When the change is our backyard and affects our families we feel the hurt. A rainforest in the Amazon is a million miles away and is hard to connect with.

2 responses to “Driving to Grandma’s house

  1. I didn’t even read your post before I just posted mine; it’s funny that we chose very similar things to talk about even though they were from two separate articles. You make a good point about us feeling the hurt when the change is in our area versus somewhere far away. I think a lot of the time when someone does not feel upset about nature areas far away being destroyed, such as the rain forests that you mentioned, they are not taking the time to think about how they would feel if the area being destroyed was where they lived. That really puts things in perspective. Just because it is not necessarily our home does not mean that it is not someone or something else’s home.

  2. I live in a small, country town of Colwich, KS. I can remember a time when there used to be fields in every visible corner. Now, housing additions, parks, and new places of business have sprouted up where these fields used to be. I used to identify my town with being a farming town, which it still is thanks the to CO-OP and grain elevator down the road. However, we are being more and more urban by the minute. I hope that one day I can bring my children back to somewhat a farming community, and not a completely urbanized and industrialized place.
    -Sara

Leave a Reply

